Event

ZAL Discourse Flying Green Tomorrow – The Importance of Hydrogen for future Aviation

Sustainability and hydrogen: those two terms can hardly be separated in aviation. Hydrogen is an essential element for achieving global and national climate protection targets. It is also the focus of Hamburg’s newly established hydrogen cluster structure. Following the theme away from fossil fuels and toward low-emission aircraft, Hamburg’s aviation stakeholders are working on new flight concepts and technology roadmaps. An important meeting place for this is the ZAL Center for Applied Aeronautical Research, because its infrastructure offers tenants and partners the perfect platform for research and exchange.

In this discourse, you will gain exclusive insights into the hydrogen activities at ZAL: In three exciting lectures, experts will reveal more about the previous and future strategies on the way to low-emission flying. After each presentation, you will get the chance to directly address the speakers with your questions.

When?                 Tuesday, May 18th, 15:00–16:45 o’clock
Where?               Digital-Event @ClickMeeting

 

Agenda

15:00     Welcome & Introduction
– Holger Kuhn & Meike Herbst, ZAL GmbH

15:15     Aviation powered by Hydrogen – research activities and infrastructure of ZAL GmbH
Sebastian Altmann (ZAL GmbH), Senior Expert Fuel Cell Lab

Hydrogen, the promising fuel of the future, is receiving increasing attention in aviation. Before a commercial use is feasible though, there are still some questions to be answered. ZAL GmbH addresses some of these within several research projects: for example, by testing lightweight construction methods for hydrogen systems and by examining the aptitude of H2 storage technologies in different aircraft. In this Discourse, you will gain insights into our activities and findings to this day.

15:45     Hydrogen – A universal solution for Aviation?
Tanja Neuland (Airbus), Focal point Hydrogen Aircraft Technologies Cluster Germany            

How can hydrogen contribute to climate-neutral aviation? What are the potentials of using it as fuel, and what does this mean for the aviation industry in the long term? In her lecture, Tanja Neuland will discuss the current state of hydrogen-research at Airbus and lay out a roadmap of how hydrogen potentials can be exploited and optimized in the future.

16:15     Eliminating Climate Impact from Aviation – Potential pathways that are currently explored in DLR’s EXACT project
Dr. Johannes Hartmann, DLR Institute for System Architectures in Aeronautics & project leader of the concept study for eco-efficient flying

Green energy sources are the key for climate neutral air mobility. In order to identify sustainable solutions for a green air transportation system, the aviation sector has to go hand in hand with the energy sector. In EXACT, researches from 20 different institutes and capabilities from four DLR divisions (energy, aviation, space & transport) are contributing to the 4-year project EXACT. The aim is to identify aircraft concepts, enable technologies for climate neutral flight & define respective technology roadmaps.

 

Sounds intriguing? Then click here to register!

Event

ZAL Diskurs Flying Green Tomorrow – Wasserstoffpotenziale für die Luftfahrt von Morgen

Nachhaltigkeit und Wasserstoff: Beides ist in der Luftfahrt kaum noch voneinander zu trennen. Wasserstoff ist ein wesentlicher Baustein, um globale und nationale Klimaschutzziele zu erreichen und wird auch in der eigens eingerichteten Wasserstoff-Clusterstruktur Hamburgs heiß diskutiert. Unter dem Motto „weg von fossilen Brennstoffen, hin zum emissionsarmen Fliegen“ planen die Hamburger Luftfahrtakteure neue Flugkonzepte und Technologie-Roadmaps. Ein wichtiger Treffpunkt hierfür ist das ZAL, denn die dortige Infrastruktur bietet Mietern und Partnern die perfekte Plattform für Forschung und Austausch.

Konkrete Einblicke in die Wasserstoffaktivitäten am ZAL erhalten Sie in diesem Diskurs: In drei spannenden Vorträgen verraten Expert:innen mehr zu den bisherigen und künftigen Strategien auf dem Weg zum emissionsarmen Fliegen. Nach jedem Vortrag können Sie sich zudem mit ihren Fragen direkt an die Referierenden richten.

Wann?  Dienstag, 18. Mai 2021, 15:00–16:45 Uhr
Wo?       Digital-Event @ClickMeeting

Agenda

15:00     Begrüßung & Einleitung
– Holger Kuhn & Meike Herbst, ZAL GmbH

15:15     „Einsatz von Wasserstoff in der Luftfahrt: Forschungsaktivitäten und Infrastruktur im ZAL“
Sebastian Altmann (ZAL GmbH), Senior Expert Fuel Cell Lab

Wasserstoff, der vielversprechende Kraftstoff der Zukunft, erhält auch in der Luftfahrt zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit. Bevor aber ein kommerzieller Einsatz realisierbar ist, gilt es, noch einige Fragen zu beantworten. Mit einigen davon beschäftigt sich die ZAL GmbH in ihren Projekten: Beispielsweise werden hier Leichtbauweisen für Wasserstoffsysteme erprobt und geprüft, wie sich H2-Speichertechnologien für unterschiedliche Luftfahrzeuge eignen. Im Rahmen des ZAL Diskurses geben wir Ihnen einen kleinen Einblick in unsere Tätigkeiten und eine Einordnung bisheriger Ergebnisse.

15:45     „Wasserstoff: Eine Universallösung für die Luftfahrt?“
 – Tanja Neuland (Airbus), Ingenieurin für Flugzeugbau mit Schwerpunkt auf Wasserstoff-Flugzeugtechnologien

Wie kann Wasserstoff dazu beitragen, die Luftfahrt klimaneutral zu gestalten? Welche Potenziale bietet der Einsatz als Treibstoff, und was bedeutet dies langfristig für die Luftfahrtindustrie? In ihrem Vortrag wird Tanja Neuland auf den aktuellen Forschungsstand zum Thema Wasserstoff bei Airbus eingehen und einen Fahrplan beschreiben, wie die Wasserstoffpotenziale in Zukunft genutzt und optimiert werden können.]

16:15     „Minimierung von Klimaschäden im Luftverkehr – Potenziale, an denen im DLR-Projekt EXACT geforscht wird“
Dr. Johannes Hartmann, Ingenieur im DLR Institut für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt & Projektleiter der Konzeptstudie für ökoeffizientes Fliegen

Grüne Energiequellen sind der Schlüssel für klimaneutrale Luftmobilität. Um nachhaltige Lösungen für ein grünes Luftverkehrssystem zu identifizieren, muss der Luftfahrtsektor Hand in Hand mit dem Energiesektor gehen. In EXACT arbeiten Forschende aus 20 verschiedenen Instituten und Kompetenzen aus vier DLR-Abteilungen (Energie, Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt & Transport) an dem 4-jährigen Projekt EXACT. Ziel ist es, Flugzeugkonzepte und Basistechnologien für klimaneutrales Fliegen zu identifizieren und entsprechende Technologie-Roadmaps zu definieren.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Dann freuen wir uns über Ihre Anmeldung!

Die Veranstaltung wird in englischer Sprache stattfinden.